See what we are doing at Goldman and Daszkal in response to COVID-19 to remain safe.
Insurance is a complex topic—in fact, you can think of dealing with insurance companies as similar to navigating our country’s formidable legal system. Too many people misunderstand the type of insurance they or other individuals involved in an accident have, which can lead them to expect coverage in a personal injury case. When it turns out that their insurance won’t actually cover their injury claim, they have no other option but to pay out of pocket.
The Florida injury attorneys at Goldman & Daszkal, P.A., are dedicated to supporting and representing you in your personal injury case with the utmost care and compassion. In keeping with our mission, we’ve set out to dispel some of the misconceptions around insurance in Florida. Here is some helpful information about insurance policies to get you started.
Unless you’re paying a bill or you find yourself involved in an accident, you’re probably not thinking about your insurance policy very often. But we’ve seen far too many people who believe they’re fully covered find out that they carry only the minimum amount of insurance required by the state of Florida. Most often, they only find that out when they try to seek compensation after an accident. So, what is the minimum insurance you’re required to have in the Sunshine State, and what types of insurance will fully cover you?
In the state of Florida, licensed drivers are required to have insurance coverage with a minimum policy limit of $10,000 for property damage and $10,000.00 for Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Before you can register a car or other four-wheeled vehicle, you’ll need to show both proof of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance.
Florida is a no-fault state, meaning that insurance companies must provide policies that include PIP coverage, which covers 80 percent of injury-related medical expenses and 60% of lost wages up to $10,000. Additionally, the Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage has a minimum requirement of $10,000.00 and will pay for damages the insured is responsible for causing such as vehicle damage, municipal property (guard rails, light posts, etc.) and other personal property.
Put all of that together, and you arrive at the total minimum auto insurance drivers are legally required to have in Florida. Auto insurance as a whole typically covers injuries and property damages sustained in an accident while also providing liability coverage for the driver who causes the accident.
There are a number of other insurance types that you may choose to purchase in order to better cover you and your family, such as life insurance and flood insurance. In the case of auto policies of insurance, you might find additional peace of mind in securing policies like Bodily Injury Coverage, which protects you up to the chosen limit for claims made against you for medical expenses and wages not covered by PIP, as well as pain and suffering to name a few. Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage (which is required by law in some states, but not in Florida) protects you in the event someone else is responsible and you might need to make a claim for uncovered expenses, wages, and pain and suffering. The Uninsured/Underinsured coverage applies when the person responsible either does not carry Bodily Injury or does not carry sufficient coverage to compensate you for those losses.
Not understanding your insurance policy isn’t something to be embarrassed about—even the most independent people can use some help now and then, and it’s far better to understand the specifics of your policy now than to find out you are not covered while you’re recovering from an injury.
For the quickest way to find out whether or not your insurance covers your injury claim, check the declarations page of your insurance contract. Think of this front page as the information section, or a clear view of your policy. The declarations page will provide you with essential information, such as what type of coverage you have, your policy limits, and your policy period.
Insurance policies usually limit coverage to a specific amount, which means that an insurance company will only cover so much—and you may wind up having to pay the difference. Multiple insurance policies and coverages may come into play, depending on the nature of your accident.
Contact the Florida personal injury attorneys at Goldman and Daszkal, P.A., as quickly as possible after sustaining property damage or bodily injury in an accident, whether or not you have insurance. Seeking legal help can seem intimidating, but it should ultimately result in you securing the compensation you deserve.
Getting compensation from an insurance company is difficult, if not outright impossible, to accomplish on your own—especially if you’ve been severely injured. A Florida injury attorney can advocate on your behalf while you focus on healing. The skilled lawyers at Goldman & Daszkal, P.A., have a proven track record of success dealing with insurance companies and insurance claims. We’re on your side and are happy to answer any questions you may have about seeking legal counsel. If you need assistance with an insurance claim, contact us today for a free, confidential consultation.
We serve the following localities: Coral Springs, Davie, Deerfield Beach, Fort Lauderdale, Hollywood, Lauderhill, Lighthouse Point, Miramar, Pembroke Pines, Plantation, Pompano Beach, Sunrise, Broward County, Boca Raton, Boynton Beach, Delray Beach, Palm Beach Gardens, Wellington, West Palm Beach, and Palm Beach County.
Deerfield Beach Accident Lawyer Goldman & Daszkal, P.A.
Contact Broward County Injury Attorney Goldman & Daszkal, P.A.
Copyright © 2021 Goldman & Daszkal, P.A. Web Development & Web Marketing by IWD Marketing